They’ll always be my babies. 

Do you ever just look at your babies and get so overwhelmed with emotion. You think to yourself I made that little ( or not so little) creature. You are little parts of me.

I can’t even properly put into words how much love I feel for my children. There are some moments where it just halts me in my tracks. It takes my breath away. It’s usually when we’ve had a really busy* day. I eventually get to bed and on my way I stop in to check on Connie and Angus.


I could watch them sleep all night. It’s not because they’re quiet (although that could something to do with it sometimes.) It’s because they look so much smaller and more vulnerable – if that’s possible – when they’re sleeping. The realisation hits you, YOU gave these babies life, you have kept them alive. It is you they rely on most in the whole world.

You feed them, you clothe them, you clean them, you play with them and you entertain them. When they’re ill you take extra good care of them, you give them a safe and warm home and you teach them right from wrong.

It’s you. You are completely responsible for these gorgeous little creatures and that’s exciting and terrifying in equal measure.


Sometimes the weight of that responsibility can be more scary than anything else in the world. Sometimes, like me, you might feel like you’re just not doing a good enough job. But, just look at those little creatures. They are healthy and happy. And that’s all on you.

Ignore the messy house and the untidy garden, ignore the fact that you’re drowning in washing, just for a second, and look at them sleeping peacefully. Congratulate yourself on making these gorgeous babies of yours, because you’re doing great, and the love they have brought you makes it all worthwhile.

*Note – Please read into “busy” as you will. Whether that’s being out running errands all day or finding the constant questions and crying so tiring and just wanting to curl up and cry yourself.

About Beth Mackintosh

Mum of two, well, three if you count the man child. Weddings, skating competitions and the smell of a new book 👌🏼
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

