The importance of child free time. 

I love my kids so much, but sometimes they can just be a bit overwhelming. You spend so much time with them, serving their every need, entertaining them, cuddling them, teaching them, showing them right from wrong. It is full on, full time.

You spend every minute thinking about their safety and happiness that you forget about you.

Remember Mums, you are important too.

I need time just for me. Even if I’m just cleaning the bathroom or reading a couple of chapters from a book. It’s that time where you think about you. Time where your brain gets a break.

It’s in that time, even if it’s just five minutes, that you realise that you’re always on edge. You’re always so busy, you’re thinking ahead to what you’re going to make them for dinner, you’re in the here and now playing with the building blocks, you’re looking back remembering about the dentist appointment you have been reminded you need to make them. You’re constantly worried they might fall and hurt themselves or that they aren’t eating enough.

Now, I’m not saying that a parent totally stops thinking about their little people when they have their ten minutes to sit down with a cuppa but it gives us freedom to let someone else be the thinking about it all for just a little while.

I also find, it’s important to have time together with your partner.

Daniel was off last week, the kids were at the childminders for the day and it was just us. What a lovely day. Sometimes you forget how great your other half is. You spend day in, day out revolving your life around those gorgeous little humans you created together and forget what other wonderful human is right there beside you.

I’m so lucky I have Daniel and a great network of family and friends whom I trust implicitly to look after my littles, so when I get me time I can just relax.

I wish everyone had what I do.

About Beth Mackintosh

Mum of two, well, three if you count the man child. Weddings, skating competitions and the smell of a new book 👌🏼
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

