Tidy up time…

Now Connie had started nursery she is excellent at shouting “tidy up time!” When things get too messy or it’s nearly time to leave/have dinner/go to bed. However, she’s absolutely awful at actually tidying up.

I’ve tried praising her, some extremely over the top praise. I’ve tried telling her how sad it makes me, and how disappointed I am. I’ve tried being cross. I’ve tried taking away toys and television time. I’ve tried time outs and putting her to her bedroom to think about what she’s doing. I’ve tried telling her “You have thirty minutes to tidy the playroom, if you don’t tidy up I will lock the door and you won’t be allowed in” I’ve tried bribing her with a chocolate biscuit or a new book. I’ve even tried binning toys (she was happy to help me put them in the bin).

We’ve offered to help her but when we do she just leaves it all to us and starts to pull out more toys!

She can tidy up, she used to be great at it, and from what I can gather she is good at doing it at nursery. She tidies her toys at her grandparents house without -too much- complaint and even helps tidy toys at the doctors surgery when we’ve been. But she won’t do it at home.

I could easily go and do it, but what is that teaching her?

Send help. Parenting S.O.S

About Beth Mackintosh

Mum of two, well, three if you count the man child. Weddings, skating competitions and the smell of a new book 👌🏼
This entry was posted in Connie, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

